Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Fast Wave induced ICRF plasma Expansion in ADITYA torus

24 Oct 2018, 14:00
4h 45m
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Poster P4 Posters


Dr Kishore Mishra (Institute for Plasma Research)


In ADITYA tokamak, ICRF plasma is produced by a single strap poloidal antenna located at LFS by exciting 24.8 MHz with a RF power < 80 kW for the purpose of developing Ion Cyclotron Wall Conditioning (ICWC) scenarios. Suitable combination of density (by regulating RF power and fill pressure) and Bt are investigated to allow the Fast Wave (FW) propagation in the torus volume. Initially at high Bt, the ICWC plasma which was previously localized inside the antenna box, is spread along the toroidal field lines. The plasma is radially and poloidally localized only near the antenna location. Below a particular Bt, plasma is expanded into the vessel in radial direction. This expansion of plasma is explained by considering the cold ion dispersion of FWs. It is observed that the Slow Wave branch is non-propagating for the entire Bt range, whereas, FW starts propagating towards HFS at Bt < 0.2 T for the entire plasma volume. This critical Bt reasonably agrees with the experiment. This scenario could be useful in wall conditioning and wall coating in future fusion machines, where plasma uniformity is desirable.
Country or International Organization India
Paper Number EX/P4-28

Primary author

Dr Kishore Mishra (Institute for Plasma Research)


Mr Atul Varia (IPR) Mr B Kadia (IPR) Mr D Rathi (IPR) Mrs G Ashok (IPR) Mr H Jadhav (IPR) Dr Joydeep Ghosh (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr K Jadeja (IPR) Mr K Parmar (IPR) Mr M Parihar (IPR) Dr Manoj Gupta (IPR) Mrs Nilam Ramaiya (IPR) Mr R Joshi (IPR) Mrs R Manchanda (IPR) Mr Rakesh Tanna (Institute For Plasma Research) Mr S Bhat (IPR) Mr S Kumar (IPR) Dr Sanjay Kulkarni (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr Y Srinivas (IPR)

Presentation Materials