Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Pedestal dynamics in inter-ELM phase on HL-2A tokamak

25 Oct 2018, 08:30
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Poster P5 Posters


Dr Jun Cheng (Southwestern Institute of Physics)


Streamer, as well as zonal flow is a very challenging subject since it is expected to have significant effects on confinement in high temperature plasmas. Theoretical simulation predicts that streamers originate from the nonlinear development of turbulence driven by electron and ion temperature gradient. In experiments, few works have reported the streamer observation only up to now, and detailed analysis of the streamer dynamics is still a lack, in spite of its importance in the understanding of plasma confinement in toroidal fusion devices. Here we report the first observation of streamer formation in the HL-2A edge plasmas in inter-ELM phases. The streamer is developed from turbulence via a quasi-coherent mode which interacts with and modulates ambient turbulence, induces an inward particle flux, and plays an essential role in the pedestal dynamics in the inter-ELM phases. Detailed results on the streamer characteristics and its role in triggering the ELM will also be presented.
Country or International Organization China, People's Republic of
Paper Number EX/P5-6

Primary author

Dr Jun Cheng (Southwestern Institute of Physics)


Dr Deliang Yu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Mr Jianqiang Xu (Southwestern Institure of Physics) Prof. Jiaqi Dong (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Kaijun Zhao (Sothwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Kimitaka Itoh (NIFS) Dr Longwen Yan (Southwestern Instotute of Physics) Min Jiang (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Min Xu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Mingkun Han (Dalian University of Technology) Prof. Qingwei Yang (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Sanae Itoh (Research Institute for Applied Mechanics, Kyushu University) Dr Shigeru Inagaki (Kyushu University) Dr Wulyu Zhong (CnSWIP) Dr Xiaoquan JI (Southwestern Institute of Physics, Chengdu 610041 China) Prof. Xuantong Ding (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Xuru Duan (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Yi Liu (southwestern institute of physics) Prof. Zhengxiong Wang (Dalian University of Technology) Dr Zhihui Huang (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Zhongbing Shi (Southwestern Institute of Physics)

Presentation Materials