Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Development of RF based capacitively-coupled plasma system for deposition of tungsten nano layers on graphite

24 Oct 2018, 08:30
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Poster FIP - Fusion Engineering, Integration and Power Plant Design P3 Posters


Mr Sachin S. Chauhan (Department of Physics, Shri Vaishnav Institute of Technology and Science, Indore, India)


Based on the current trends in thermonuclear fusion research, it is quite likely that future fusion machines, DEMO and beyond, will be operating with tungsten and alloys based on tungsten as the plasma facing material on their walls and targets to dissipate the thermal as well as particle loads under extreme conditions. Tungsten is being preferred because of its superior thermo-mechanical properties as well as for its low tritium retention. However, use of pure tungsten as a structural material itself will substantially increase the manufacturing cost and overall system mass and also it is difficult to machine. Hence, tungsten coatings on light substrate such as graphite are preferred which essentially reduce the cost and structural weight considerably. In this article, we report the development of a RF based capacitively coupled plasma reactor for tungsten coating on graphite tiles using plasma assisted chemical vapour deposition at SVITS, India. Tungsten nano layers have been successfully deposited on graphite test pieces by reducing the heavy tungsten hexafluoride gas in hydrogen. Characterization and post analysis of the tungsten coated tiles has been carried out to study the presence of tungsten, thickness of the coating, thermal fatigue etc.
Paper Number FIP/P3-57
Country or International Organization India

Primary author

Mr Sachin S. Chauhan (Department of Physics, Shri Vaishnav Institute of Technology and Science, Indore, India)


Mr Amulya Kumar Sanyasi (Institute for Plasma Research) Dr Jayshree Sharma (MB khalsa College,Indore) Dr Joydeep Ghosh (Institute for Plasma Research) Ms Nandini Yadav (Gujarat University) Dr S.K. Ghosh (Dept. of Physics, Vikram University) Dr UTTAM SHARMA (SHRI VAISHNAV INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY AND SCIENCE) Dr kamal Choudhary (5Indian Military Academy Uttarakhand, India)

Presentation Materials