Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Time Resolved Triton Burnup Measurements Using the Scintillating Fiber Detector on KSTAR

26 Oct 2018, 08:30
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Poster P7 Posters


Mr Jungmin Jo (Department of Energy Systems Engineering, Seoul National University)


For the purpose of fusion triton confinement study on KSTAR, square shaped scintillating fiber detector has been installed and tested during the 2017 KSTAR campaign. It is composed of scintillating fiber bundles which are immersed in the lead matrix. Totally 1,056 scintillating fibers whose cross-sectional area is 1 mm^2 are immersed. The scintillation light is detected by Hamamatsu R878 photo-multiplier tube (PMT) and its anode signal is digitized and processed by CAEN DT5751. From the d-d neutron calibration experiments in National Fusion Research Institute (NFRI) and d-t neutron calibration experiments in the Intense 14 MeV Neutron Source Facility, OKTAVIAN, of Osaka University, the appropriate discrimination level for 14 MeV neutron signal is determined. The operation results in the various plasma conditions are described. In the resonant magnetic perturbation driven edge localized mode (ELM) control experiment case, it is observed that as the RMP applied, ELM mitigated and the amount of burned up triton increased. Each observed results are analyzed by considering possible orbits and slowing down characteristics of fusion triton.
Country or International Organization Korea, Republic of
Paper Number EX/P7-3

Primary author

Mr Jungmin Jo (Department of Energy Systems Engineering, Seoul National University)


Prof. Isao Murata (Division of Sustainable Energy and Environmental Engineering, Graduate School of Engineering, Osaka University) Dr Junghee Kim (National Fusion Research Institute) Dr Kunihiro Ogawa (National Institute for Fusion Science) Prof. Kyoung-Jae Chung (Department of Energy Systems Engineering, Seoul National University) Dr Mitsutaka Isobe (National Institute for Fusion Science) Dr MunSeong Cheon (National Fusion Research Institute) Dr Seungil Park (National Fusion Research Institute) Dr Takeo Nishitani (National Institute for Fusion Science) Prof. Yong-Seok Hwang (Seoul National University) Dr Yongkyoon In (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology)

Presentation Materials