Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Maintenance experience of 315kW Electrical Motor of Helium screw compressor in 1.3kW Helium Refrigerator/Liquefier Plant

26 Oct 2018, 08:30
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Poster FIP - Fusion Engineering, Integration and Power Plant Design P7 Posters


Mr Dikens Christian (Institute for Plasma Research)


1.3 kW helium refrigerator/liquefier (HRL) system is installed and in operational at Cryogenic division of IPR since 2003. Steady State Super-conducting Tokomak consists of superconducting magnets which are cooled by cryogenic HRL plant. Three numbers of 315 kW asynchronous induction motors are used to drive helium screw compressors of HRL plant, therefore it is very essential to maintain the electrical motors in working condition for continuous longer tokomak experiment operation. This paper describes electrical aspect of operation, maintenance and troubleshooting experiences of electrical motors that include motor overhauling, motor winding insulation testing, no load and full load testing, online temperature monitoring and motor cooling arrangements as well as vibrations measurement of compressor, motor and the skid.
Country or International Organization India
Paper Number FIP/P7-20

Primary author

Mr Dikens Christian (Institute for Plasma Research)


Mr Dasharath Sonara (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr GLN Srikanth (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr Gaurang Mahesuria (Ipr) Mr Gaurav Purwar (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr Hiren Nimavat (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr Jayant Patel (Institute for Plasam Research, Bhat Indira Bridge, Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India) Mr Ketan Patel (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr PankilKumar Shah (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr Pradip Panchal (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr Rakeshkumar Patel (Institute For Plasma Research) Mr Rohitkumar Panchal (Institute for Plasma Research) Dr Vipulkumar Tanna (Institute for Plasma Research)

Presentation Materials