Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Tokamak research in Ioffe Institute

23 Oct 2018, 17:55
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Overview OV - Overviews OV/5 Overview Magnetic Fusion


Dr Nikolai Bakharev (Ioffe Institute)


Research of various aspects of tokamak physics is conducted on small tokamaks at Ioffe Insitute in a wide range of experimental conditions: R/a=1.6, Bt=0.5(1.0) T, Ip=250(500) kA – Globus-M(M2), R/a=2.4, Bt=1.0 T, Ip=150 kA – TUMAN-3M, R/a=7.0, Bt=3.0 T, Ip=25 kA – FT-2 tokamaks. Results obtained in final Globus-M experimental campaign (before upgrade shutdown) with the 25% toroidal magnetic field and plasma current increase up to 0.5 T and 250 kA respectively are presented. In these experiments an overall improvement in plasma performance was observed. Energy confinement time study was performed in both OH and NBI heated H-mode plasma. Strong tau_E dependence on both Ip and Bt was observed, while the dependence on density and absorbed power was similar to the conventional H-mode scaling IPB98(y,2). The lifetime of modes with ITB reached a few confinement times before the q=1 resonant surface appeared in the plasma. Plasma confinement was also studied in the compact TUMAN-3M tokamak. No noticeable isotope effect in particle confinement in hydrogen and deuterium ohmic L-mode was observed. On the contrary, in the ohmic H-mode particle confinement was approximately 1.5 times higher in deuterium than in hydrogen. Study of TAEs on Globus-M was performed at increased magnetic field. The mode character and influence on the fast ions changed with the increase of the Bt and Ip. At TUMAN-3M Ion Cyclotron Emission in OH and NBI heated discharges was studied. Application of the NBI revealed central location of ICE, excitation by sub-Alfvénic beam ions and fine structure of the emission spectral lines. New diagnostics, designed for Globus-M2, were installed and tested on Globus-M. At the FT-2 tokamak the ELMFIRE global gyrokinetic modeling of the OH discharge is compared to the experimental data using the specially developed fast linear version of the X-mode DR synthetic diagnostics. The anomalous absorption of the pump wave in the ECRH experiments due to the parametric excitation of trapped UH waves in the vicinity of the density or magnetic field profile local maximum is considered.
Country or International Organization Russian Federation
Paper Number OV/5-4

Primary author

Dr Nikolai Bakharev (Ioffe Institute)


Dr A Kavin (JSC «NIIEFA») Mr A Koval (Ioffe Institute) Mr Al Chernakov (JSC «Spectral-Tech») Dr Alexander Bazhenov (Ioffe Institute) Mr Alexander Belokurov (Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute, Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation) Dr Alexander Petrov (Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University) Dr Alexander Saveliev (Ioffe Institute) Mr Alexander Shevelev (RuIoffe) Mr Alexander Smirnov (Ioffe Institute) Dr Alexander Tukachinsky (Ioffe Institute) Dr Alexander Yashin (Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University) Mr Alexandr Novokhatsky (Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences) Mr Alexey Altukhov (Ioffe Institute) Dr Alexey Gorbunov (NRC Kurchatov Institute) Dr Alexey Gurchenko (Ioffe Institute) Dr Alexey Popov (Ioffe Institute) Mr Alexey Razdobarin (Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences) Dr Alsu Sladkomedova (Ioffe Institute) Dr Anatoly Mineev (Joint Stock Company “D.V.Efremov Institute of Electrophysical Apparatus”) Dr Andrey Melnik (Ioffe Institute) Mrs Anna Telnova (Ioffe Institute) Mr Dmitriy Razumenko (Ioffe Institute) Dr Dmitry Gin (RuIoffe) Mr Dmitry Samsonov (Ioffe Institute) Mr Eduard Bondarchuk (JSC «NIIEFA») Dr Eugene Mukhin (Ioffe Institute) Mr Eugeniy Zhilin (Ioffe Fusion Technology Ltd) Prof. Evgeniy Gusakov (Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute of Russian Academy of Science) Mr Evgeniy Kiselev (Ioffe Institute) Dr Fedor Chernyshev (Ioffe Institute) Dr Gleb Kurskiev (Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences) Mr Igor Miroshnikov (Ioffe Institute) Mr Ivan Bukreev (Ioffe Institute) Mr Konstantin Oshyev (Ioffe Institute) Dr Leonid Askinazi (Ioffe Institute) Mr Lev Esipov (Ioffe Institute) Mr Michael Irzak (Ioffe Institute) Dr Michael Patrov (Ioffe Institute) Mr N Babinov (Ioffe Institute) Dr Nikolai Khromov (Ioffe Institute) Dr Nikolai Sakharov (Ioffe Institute) Dr Nikolai Zhubr (Ioffe Institute) Mr Oleg Krutkin (Ioffe Institute) Mr Paavo Niskala (Aalto University) Mr Petr Shchegolev (Ioffe Institute) Dr Sergei Lebedev (RuIoffe) Mr Sergey Krikunov (Ioffe Institute) Dr Sergey Tolstyakov (Ioffe Institute) Susan Leerink (Aalto University) Dr Timo Kiviniemi (Aalto University) Mr Valentin Tokarev (Ioffe Institute) Mr Valery Solovei (Institute) Dr Vasily Gusev (Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute) Dr Viktor Bulanin (St.Petersburg State Polytechnical University) Mr Vladimir Kornev (Ioffe Institute) Dr Vladimir Minaev (Ioffe Institute) Mr Vladimir Solokha (Ioffe Institute) Mr Vladimir Varfolomeev (Ioffe Institute) Dr Yuriy Petrov (Ioffe Institute)

Presentation Materials