Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Dynamics of Neon Ions after Neon Gas Seeding and Puffing into Tokamak Plasma

25 Oct 2018, 14:00
4h 45m
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Poster P6 Posters


Dr Nirmal Kumar Bisai (Institute for Plasma Research, Bhat, Gandhinagar-382428, India)


High Z Impurity seeding/puffing is an important topic as it is capable to provide radiative improvement of confinement and disruption mitigation in future tokamaks. Here, in this work, numerically and experimentally, we investigate the effect of low density 1% Ne gas (Z = 10, A = 20) seeding and also massive gas puffing. Two dimensional electrostatic interchange turbulence simulation has been done in the edge and SOL regions. The Ne ion density is found maximum in the edge region, which indicates inward motion of the ions. The polarization drift and turbulent eddies play a significant role for the inward motion. The numerical results have been compared with the results obtained from the Ne seeding experiments on the ADITYA. This experiment indicates several Ne lines of higher charged states. As Ne VII has an ionization potential of 157.9 eV, hence, a Ne penetration up to at least ~0.84 is achieved. Reduction of radially outward flux by the neon gas has been observed from the numerical simulations and also from the ADITYA experiments. In this work, these results will be compared. Simulation of massive neon gas puff has been done. Substantial cooling and modification of the plasma pressure gradient have been found.
Paper Number TH/P6-23
Country or International Organization India

Primary author

Dr Nirmal Kumar Bisai (Institute for Plasma Research, Bhat, Gandhinagar-382428, India)


Ms Harshita Raj (Institute for Plasma Research) Dr Joydeep Ghosh (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr Kumarpalsinh Jadeja (Institute for plasma Research) Dr Malay Bikas Chowdhuri (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr Rakesh Tanna (Institute For Plasma Research) Ms Ranjana Manchanda (Institute for Plasma Research) Dr Ritu Dey (Institute for Plasma Research) Dr Santanu Banerjee (Institute for Plasma Research)

Presentation Materials