Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
Apr 19 – 22, 2022
Vienna, Austria
Europe/Vienna timezone
FR22 starts in Vienna 19 - 22 April 2022 Online Stream:

Increase of nuclear power plant hydrogen safety using zirconium accumulator

Apr 20, 2022, 1:40 PM
Vienna, Austria

Vienna, Austria

POSTER Track 2. Fast Reactor Safety Poster Session


Ekaterina Orlova


Ensuring hydrogen safety is one of the most important conditions of the general substantiation of NPP safety.
The greatest danger of the release of a huge amount of hydrogen arises in relation to nuclear stations in water and water stations during the beyond design basis steam-zirconium reaction and in case of leaks between the second (sodium) and third (water) circuits of fast reactors with a sodium coolant.
There are an increasing number of proposals for the use of nuclear power facilities for the production of hydrogen as an alternative source of electricity.
Currently, to prevent an explosive situation, a hydrogen afterburning system is used with catalytic oxidation (combustion) of hydrogen in a gas mixture with using a platinum catalyst.
The authors propose, along with post-combustion of hydrogen or instead, to separate hydrogen from the hydrogen vapor medium using a membrane consisting of several modules of nickel tubes, and to bind it in the form of zirconium hydride using a special structure made of zirconium foil.
The hydrogen storage device is regenerable. By thermal dissociation ZrHx the accumulated hydrogen can be separated and implemented in power devices acting on the basis of converting hydrogen and oxygen into water or steam.
The method is also effective in the field of tritium production for thermonuclear reactors with simultaneous increase in ecological purity of nuclear power plants.

Speaker's title Ms
Speaker's email address
Country/Int. organization Russian Federation
Affiliation/Organization National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Obninsk Institute fo

Primary authors

Ekaterina Orlova Dmitrii Samokhin (National Research Nuclear University МЕРhI) Mr Andrey Orlov (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Obninsk Institute for Nuclear Power Engineering)) Mr Vladimir Belozerov (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Obninsk Institute for Nuclear Power Engineering))

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.

Peer reviewing