Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
Oct 13 – 18, 2014
Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya
Europe/Moscow timezone

Overview of HL-2A Recent Experiments

Oct 14, 2014, 2:00 PM
Blue 1-5 (Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya)

Blue 1-5

Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya

Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Overview OV - Overviews Overview 4


Mr Min Xu (China)


Since the last IAEA FEC, experiments on HL-2A tokamak have been dedicated to address the physics on L-H transition, energetic-particles (EPs) and shear Alfvén waves (SAWs), ELM mitigation, disruption mitigation, edge impurity transport and other MHD related activities. In particular, significant progresses have been made in the following areas: (i) For the first time in experiments, it was found that the phase between normalized radial electric field and the envelope of density fluctuations reverses during the intermediate phase (I-phase) in comparison to the usual predator-prey regime as the plasma approaches H-mode during the L-I-H confinement transition; (ii) The frequency up- and down-sweeping reverse shear Alfvén eigenmodes (RSAEs) were observed in NBI plasmas with qmin~1. By using kinetic AE code (KAEC) simulation, it has been confirmed that the down-sweeping modes are kinetic RSAEs, and the up-sweeping modes are RSAEs that exist in the ideal or kinetic MHD limit; (iii) The transition and interaction among low-frequency MHD modes have been observed during NBI, which suggests profound interaction existing among fishbone mode, long-live mode (LLM) and tearing mode (TM); (iv) With SMBI a runaway electron plateau was observed at a rather low toroidal magnetic field. In addition, progresses have also been made in the analysis of the loss of energetic-ions, the ELM mitigation induced by supersonic molecular beam injection (SMBI), and the onset of neoclassical tearing mode (NTM) during nonlocal effect with SMBI, etc. All these experiments benefited from several newly installed diagnostics, such as Motional Stark Effect (MSE), Charge Exchange Recombination Spectroscopy (CXRS) and a scintillator-based lost fast-ion probe (SLIP), and the upgrade of ECRH heating power to 5 MW.
Country or International Organisation China
Paper Number OV/4-1

Primary author

Mr Min Xu (China)


Dr Baoshan Yuan (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Beibing Feng (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Bo Li (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Changxuan Yu (University of Science of Technology of China) Dr Chenghe Cui (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Mr Chengyuan Chen (Southwestern institute of physics) Ms Chunhua Liu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Defeng Kong (University of Science and Technology of China) Dr Deliang Yu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Dequan Liu (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Dr Guangjiu Lei (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Dr Guangsheng Li (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Huajun Li (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Jianfei Peng (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Jianyong Cao (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Prof. Jiaqi Dong (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Jinhua Zhang (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Mr Jun Cheng (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Jun Rao (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Dr Jun Zhou (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Lianghua Yao (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Liaoyuan Chen (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Dr Lieying Yao (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Liming Yu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Longwen Yan (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Mei Huang (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Mitsutaka Isobe (National Ins titute for Fusion Science) Dr Qiang Li (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Dr Qing Li (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Qingwei Yang (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Quanming Wang (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Prof. Shigeru Morita (National Institute for Fusion Science) Dr Wei Chen (Southwestern Institute of Physics, P.O. Box 432 Chengdu 610041, China) Ms Wei Deng (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Weichen Mao (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Dr Weimin Xuan (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Dr Weiyu Hong (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Mr Wulu Zhong (Southwestern Institute of Physics, P.O. Box 432, Chengdu 610041, People’s Republic of China) Prof. Xianming SONG (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Xiaodong Li (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Dr Xiaoquan JI (Southwestern Institute of Physics, Chengdu 610041 China) Prof. Xuantong Ding (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Xuru Duan (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Yan Zhou (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Yi Liu (southwestern institute of physics) Dr Yingqiao Wang (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Yong Liu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Yuan Huang (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Yuhong Xu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Yunbo Dong (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Zeng Cao (Southwestern Institute of Phyiscs) Dr Zhengying Cui (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Zhongbing Shi (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr xiaolan zou (CEA)

Presentation materials