Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
Oct 13 – 18, 2014
Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya
Europe/Moscow timezone

JT-60SA Superconducting Magnet System

Oct 17, 2014, 2:00 PM
4h 45m
Green 8-9 (Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya)

Green 8-9

Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya

Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Poster Poster 8


Dr Yutaka Kamada (Japan Atomic Energy Agency)


The most distinctive feature of the superconducting magnet system for JT-60SA is the optimized coil structure in terms of the space utilization as well as the highly accurate coil manufacturing as follows, thus meeting the requirements for the steady-state tokamak research: A conceptually new outer inter-coil structure is introduced to the toroidal field coils to realize their slender shape, allowing large-bore diagnostic ports for detailed measurements; a method to minimize the manufacturing error of the equilibrium-field coils has been established, aiming at the precise plasma shape/position control; a compact butt joint has been successfully developed for the Central Solenoid, which allows to make the best use of the space for the Central Solenoid to extend the duration of the plasma pulse.
Country or International Organisation Japan
Paper Number FIP/P8-18

Primary author

Dr Yoshihiko Koide (Japan Atomic Energy Agency)


Dr Antonio Cucchiaro (ENEA) Mr Atsushi Honda (JAEA) Dr Enrico Di Pietro (F4E) Dr Frederic Michel (CEA) Dr Gael Disset (CEA) Dr Gianmario Polli (ENEA) Dr Guy Phillips (F4E) Dr Haruyuki Murakami (JAEA) Dr Jean-Louis Marechal (CEA) Dr Kaname Kizu (JAEA) Dr Katsuhiko Tsuchiya (JAEA) Mr Katsutomi Usui (JAEA) Dr Kiyoshi Shibanuma (JAEA) Dr Kiyoshi Yoshida (Japan Atomic Energy Agency) Dr Koji Kamiya (JAEA) Dr Laurent Genini (CEA) Dr Louis Zani (CEA) Dr Manfred Wanner (F4E) Dr Mario Verrecchia (F4E) Dr Nandor Hajnal (F4E) Dr Paolo Rossi (ENEA) Dr Patrick Decool (CEA) Dr Pietro Barabaschi (F4E) Dr Reinhard Heller (KIT) Dr Sam Davis (F4E) Dr Valerio Tomarchio (F4E) Dr Yoshitaka Ikeda (JAEA) Mr Yoshitoshi Kashiwa (JAEA)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.