Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
Oct 13 – 18, 2014
Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya
Europe/Moscow timezone

Plasma Vertical Stabilization in ITER

Oct 15, 2014, 8:30 AM
Green 8-9 (Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya)

Green 8-9

Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya

Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Poster Poster 3


Dr Yury Gribov (ITER Organization)


This paper describes the progress in analysis of the ITER plasma vertical stabilization (VS) system since its Design Review 2007 – 2008. Two indices characterising plasma vertical stabilization were studied. These are 1) the maximum value of plasma vertical displacement due to free drift that can be stopped by the VS system and 2) the maximum Root Mean Square value of low frequency noise in the dZ/dt “diagnostic” signal used in the VS feedback loop. The first VS index was calculated using the PET code for 15MA high-li low-beta plasmas. The second VS index was studied in the simulations of the most demanding for plasma magnetic control 15MA scenarios having the fastest plasma current ramp-up with early X-point formation, the fastest plasma current ramp-down in divertor configuration and the H to L mode transition at the current flattop. The simulations were performed from the beginning of the central solenoid discharge till the end of plasma current ramp-down using the DINA code with feedback control of the plasma current, position and shape, taking into account engineering limits imposed on the coils, power supplies and plasma-wall gaps. The studies performed demonstrate that the VS in-vessel coils, adopted recently in the baseline design, increase of the VS controllability range by about a factor of 6 providing operating margins sufficient to achieve ITER's goals.
Paper Number PPC/P3-21
Country or International Organisation ITER Organization

Primary author

Dr Yury Gribov (ITER Organization)


Dr Andrey Kavin (Joint Stock Company “D.V.Efremov Institute of Electrophysical Apparatus”) Dr Joseph Snipes (ITER Organization) Dr Luca Zabeo (ITER Organization) Dr Rustam Khayrutdinov (Nuclear Fusion Institute, Russian Research Center “Kurchatov Institute”) Dr Victor Lukash (Nuclear Fusion Institute, Russian Research Center “Kurchatov Institute”)

Presentation materials