Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
Oct 13 – 18, 2014
Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya
Europe/Moscow timezone

Gyrokinetic study of ASDEX-Upgrade inter-ELM profile evolution

Oct 16, 2014, 8:30 AM
Green 8-9 (Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya)

Green 8-9

Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya

Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Poster THC - Magnetic Confinement Theory and Modelling: Confinement Poster 5


Dr David Hatch (Institute for Fusion Studies, University of Texas at Austin)


The gyrokinetic Gene code is used to study Inter-ELM H-mode pedestal profile evolu- tion for an ASDEX-Upgrade discharge. Four main instabilities are observed during various inter-ELM phases—density gradient driven drift waves (DW), microtearing modes (MTM), kinetic ballooning modes (KBM), and electron temperature gradient (ETG) modes. DWs are the dominant pedestal instability during the early density-buildup phase. The drift waves are characterized by significant outward particle flux, and show no evidence of a large pinch mechanism. The electron temperature gradient achieves a critical value early in the ELM cycle, concurrent with the appearance of both MTMs and ETG modes. The nom- inal profiles are stable to KBMs, but moderate increases in β are sufficient to surpass the KBM threshold. Certain aspects of the dynamics support the premise of KBM-constrained pedestal evolution; the density and temperature profiles separately undergo large changes, but in a manner which keeps the pressure profile constant and near the KBM limit. Non- linear simulations of DW turbulence and ETG turbulence are also described.
Paper Number PD/P5-4
Country or International Organisation USA

Primary author

Dr David Hatch (Institute for Fusion Studies, University of Texas at Austin)


Dr Daniel Told (IPP-Garching) Dr Eleonora Viezzer (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Plasmaphysik) Dr Elisabeth Wolfrum (Max Planck Institut fuer Plasmaphysik) Prof. Frank Jenko (Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics) Dr Hauke Doerk (IPP-Garching) M.J. Pueschel (University of Wisconsin-Madison) Dr Mike Dunne (IPP-Garching)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.