Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
13-17 May 2019
Daejeon, Republic of Korea
Europe/Vienna timezone
Meeting Material is now available and accessible from the left-menu

First experience with the W7-X Fast Interlock System

15 May 2019, 15:25
2h 35m
Daejeon, Republic of Korea

Daejeon, Republic of Korea

Board: P/3-4
Poster Machine Control, Monitoring, Safety and Remote Manipulation Poster


Reinhard Vilbrandt (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Teilinstitut Greifswald)


The safety related PLC in the central safety system (cSS) of W7-X with its corresponding periphery ensures occupational safety and the basic protection of investment. Because its reaction time in the range of some 100 ms is not sufficient to protect components in the plasma vessel from overloading by plasma heating (up to 14 MW), the fast interlock system (FIS) was installed. It can respond to the signals of any diagnostics in 1 ms.
The very first practical experiences with the FIS have been gained during the operation phase 1.2b in summer 2018. Next to the proof of a satisfactory reaction, scalability and operability, the focus also was on the assessment of the reaction times of the various safety-relevant plasma diagnostics.
The paper describes the basic system components and the behavior of the FIS during several experimental situations in the operation campaign 1.2b. A couple of planned measures to improve and extend the FIS, will be presented.

This work has been carried out within the framework of the EUROfusion Consortium and has received funding from the Euratom research and training programme 2014-2018 and 2019-2020 under grant agreement No 633053. The views and opinions expressed herein do not necessarily reflect those of the European Commission.

Primary author

Reinhard Vilbrandt (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Teilinstitut Greifswald)


Dirk Naujoks (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Teilinstitut Greifswald) Hans-Stephan Bosch (Max-Planck-Institute for Plasma Physics) Jens Knauer (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Teilinstitut Greifswald) Mr Jörg Schacht (Max Planck Institut für Plasmaphysik) Kai Jakob Brunner (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Teilinstitut Greifswald) Kian Rahbania (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Teilinstitut Greifswald) Matthias Hirsch (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik) Stefan Marsen (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Teilinstitut Greifswald) Uwe Herbst (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Teilinstitut Greifswald)

Presentation Materials