Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.

Objectives and Status of the OECD/NEA sub-group on Uncertainty Analysis in Modelling (UAM) for Design, Operation and Safety Analysis of SFRs (SFR-UAM)

Jun 27, 2017, 4:50 PM
Room 6 (Yekaterinburg)

Room 6


ORAL Track 6. Test Reactors, Experiments and Modeling and Simulations 6.5 Uncertainty Analysis and Tools


Prof. Gerald Rimpault (CEA)


An OECD/NEA sub-group on Uncertainty Analysis in Modelling (UAM) for Design, Operation and Safety Analysis of Sodium-cooled Fast Reactors (SFR-UAM) has been formed under the NSC/WPRS/EGUAM and is currently undertaking preliminary studies after having specified a series of benchmarks. The incentive for launching the SFR-UAM task force comes from the desire to utilize current understanding of important phenomena to define and quantify the main core characteristics affecting safety and performance of SFRs. Best-estimate codes and data together with an evaluation of the uncertainties are required for that purpose, which challenges existing calculation methods. The group benefits from the results of a previous Sodium Fast Reactor core Feed-back and Transient response (SFR-FT) Task Force work under the NSC/WPRS/EGRPANS. Two SFR cores have been selected for the SFR-UAM benchmark, a 3600MWth oxide core and a 1000MWth metallic core. Their neutronic feedback coefficients are being calculated for transient analyses. The SFR-UAM sub-group is currently defining the grace period or the margin to melting available in the different accident scenarios and this within uncertainty margins. Recently, the work of the sub-group has been updated to incorporate new exercises, namely, the depletion benchmark, the control rod withdrawal benchmark, and the SUPER-PHENIX start up transient. Experimental evidence in support of the studies is also being developed.

Country/Int. Organization

CEA, Cadarache Center
GRS, Germany
KfKI, Hungary
IJS, Slovenia
OECD, NEA, France

Primary author

Prof. Gerald Rimpault (CEA)


Mr Alexander Aures (GRS) Dr Andras Kereszturi (KfKI) Prof. Ivan Kodeli (Jozef Stefan Institute) Dr Konstantin Mikityuk (psi) Dr Nicolas Stauff (Argonne National Laboratory) Dr yukio Nakahara (OECD)

Presentation materials