Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.

Final Results and Lessons Learned from EBR-II SHRT-17 Benchmark Simulations

Jun 26, 2017, 4:45 PM
Room 2 (Yekaterinburg)

Room 2


ORAL Track 6. Test Reactors, Experiments and Modeling and Simulations 6.11 IAEA Benchmark on EBR-II Shutdown Heat Removal Tests


Mr Nikita Rtishchev (IBRAE RAN)


In 2012 the IAEA initiated a 4-year coordinated research project (CRP) “Benchmark Analyses of EBR-II Shutdown Heat Removal Tests”, with Argonne National Laboratory serving as the lead technical institution. Nineteen participants from eleven countries were involved in the project. The overall purpose of the CRP was to improve validation of state-of-the-art sodium-cooled fast reactor (SFR) computer codes through comparisons of the analytical predictions against whole-plant recorded test data. A secondary purpose was training of the next generation of SFR analysts and designers through participation in international benchmark exercises. Numerical simulations were performed for the two most severe experiments conducted in the 1980s during Argonne’s EBR-II Shutdown Heat Removal Tests program. The first test was SHRT-17, where a PLOF (Protected Loss Of Flow) accident scenario was performed, and the second – SHRT-45R, where a ULOF (Unprotected Loss Of Flow) scenario was performed. This paper describes the results (blind and final) of the SHRT-17 experiment simulation, findings of the CRP benchmark exercise associated with the EBR-II SHRT-17 test, improvements proposed by the participants, and the lessons learned within the project. **Note: EBR-II Benchmarks Invited Session**

Country/Int. Organization


Primary authors

Mr Nikita Rtishchev (IBRAE RAN) Dr Ohira Hiroaki (Japan Atomic Energy Agency)


Mr AN-DONG Shin (KINS) Mr Alessandro Del Nevo (ENEA) Mr Alessandro PETRUZZI (N.IN.E.) Dr Barbara Vezzoni (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)) Dr Chiwoong CHOI (Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)) Ms Danting SUI (North China Electric Power University) Mr ETHAN BATES (TerraPower) Mr Guanghui Su (XJTU) Prof. Koji Morita (Kyushu University) Dr Laural Briggs (Argonne National Laboratory) Mr Ludovic Maas (IRSN) Mr Marek STEMPNIEWICZ (NRG) Dr Stefano Monti (IAEA) Mr UPPALA PARTHA SARATHY (IGCAR) Dr Vladimir Kriventsev (IAEA) Mr WILLEM F. G. VAN ROOIJEN (UNIVERSITY OF FUKUI) Mr Wenjun Hu (CIAE) Mr YOUPENG Zhang (PSI) roberto zanino (dipartimento energia, politecnico di torino)

Presentation materials