Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
Oct 13 – 18, 2014
Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya
Europe/Moscow timezone

Experimental Study of Disruption Mitigation Using Supersonic Molecular Beam and Massive Gas Injection on HL-2A and J-TEXT

Oct 17, 2014, 8:30 AM
Green 8-9 (Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya)

Green 8-9

Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya

Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Poster Poster 7


Dr Yunbo Dong (Southwestern Institute of Physics)


In tokamak experiments, including JET, JT-60U, Tore Supra, and TEXTOR, it has been shown that the runaway electron (RE) generation occurs usually above a threshold at Bt ≈ 2 T independent on machine size. Recently, disruption mitigation experiments with SMBI and MGI have been carried out in the HL-2A and J-TEXT tokamaks to study various injection scenarios and gas jet penetration. The improved SMBI system has been developed at HL-2A with a larger orifice(0.5mm of diameter), a quite shorter opening time (0.2ms), and its maximum throughput is up to 1.0×10^21 (10ms,50bar). The SMBI was triggered by a negative voltage spike in the loop voltage signal prior to the thermal quench. In the SMBI mitigation experiments at HL-2A, the RE plateau is achieved even at Bt = 1.3 T, much lower than the Bt threshold observed in other tokamaks. Both Ne and Ar gases could create runaway electron at Bt = 1.3 T. In addition, A fast massive gas injection valve has been constructed and tested on the J-TEXT tokamak, whose shortest opening time is about 0.25ms and maximum gas capacity is 1.0×10^24. In J-TEXT disruption mitigation experiments, after injecting Ar to induce disruption, both Bt threshold and electron density threshold of the RE plateau generation are observed in J-TEXT. The threshold of Bt is 1.2T, similar to that found in HL-2A. The RE plateau is easier to obtain at lower electron densities. This might be understood by hot tail RE generation.
Country or International Organisation China
Paper Number EX/P7-31

Primary author

Dr Yunbo Dong (Southwestern Institute of Physics)


Mr Chengyuan Chen (Southwestern institute of physics) Prof. Ge Zhuang (Huazhong University of Science and Technology) Dr Huidong Zhuang (Institute of Plasma Physics) Dr Jinming Gao (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Long Zeng (Institute of Plasma Physics) Prof. Yi. Liu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Mr Yihui Luo (Huazhong University of Science and Technology) Dr Yipo Zhang (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Yuhong Xu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Zhongyong Chen (Huazhong University of Science and Technology)

Presentation materials