Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
Oct 13 – 18, 2014
Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya
Europe/Moscow timezone

Structure and Scaling of Fluctuations in the MHD Range in the H-1NF HELIAC

Oct 15, 2014, 2:00 PM
4h 45m
Green 8-9 (Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya)

Green 8-9

Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya

Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Poster Poster 4


Dr Boyd Blackwell (Australian National University)


The H-1 flexible heliac with its wide range of magnetic configurations is an ideal device for studying instabilities in the low to mid Alfvenic range – low to hundreds of kHz, in H/He RF-produced plasma around 0.5T. More than 80 magnetic probes in three arrays, and several optical imaging diagnostics provide data on poloidal, helical and radial mode structures. Sensitive multi channel interferometry, framing cameras synchronised with the mode, and gas puff illumination techniques provide density fluctuation data in two dimensions. The vast data set acquired shows very clear dependences on transform and density, made possible by the low shear and precise control of configuration. Electron density fluctuation profiles from a new, high sensitivity 21 chord interferometer, will be compared with tomographically inverted fluctuation mode structures from synchronously acquired images of CII impurity line emission. Mode structure and dispersion data are compared with predictions of several codes, notably CAS3D, and CONTI, and show both Alfvenic GAE-like and/or acoustic-like (BAE) behaviour in different regimes. Scaling with magnetic field and mass density will be compared with expectations for Alfvenic and GAM and other modes.
Paper Number EX/P4-24
Country or International Organisation Australia

Primary author

Dr Boyd Blackwell (Australian National University)


Mr Alexander Thorman (Australian National University) Dr Axel Koenies (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, Greifswald) Dr Carolin Nuehrenberg (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, Greifswald) Dr David Pretty (Australian National University) Dr Jason Bertram (Australian National University) Prof. John Howard (Australian National University) Dr Matthew John Hole (Australian National University) Prof. Robert Dewar (Australian National University) Mr Shaun Haskey (Australian National University)

Presentation materials