Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
Oct 13 – 18, 2014
Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya
Europe/Moscow timezone

Advances in the Physics Basis for the European DEMO Design

Oct 15, 2014, 2:00 PM
4h 45m
Green 8-9 (Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya)

Green 8-9

Hotel Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya

Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Poster Poster 4


Dr Ronald Wenninger (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik)


In the European Fusion Roadmap ITER is followed by a Demonstration Fusion Power Reactor (DEMO), for which a conceptual design is now under development. The relevant physics knowledge need for the concept design analysis – referred to as DEMO Physics Basis – is incomplete. This contribution reports first results of a coherent effort to develop the DEMO Physics Basis, carried out by European experts. Based on an earlier assessment this program has been started in recent years and expanded in 2014 towards a more systematic and broader activity. To give an example, the vertical stability of a DEMO plasma has been investigated. Especially for typical ramp-down conditions critical growth rates have been found. Furthermore employing a realistic feedback control system, the required installed power to control the ramp-down plasma after an initial perturbation has been found to be out of the acceptable range. In order to quickly resolve this, it is planned to start already at this stage searching for a stable ramp-down trajectory. The program to develop the DEMO Physics Basis includes investigations in the areas of transport, MHD, fast particles, plasma wall interaction and disruptions. In this phase of the program it is essential to have an intense discussion with the international fusion science community on various aspects of DEMO modelling and extrapolation of experimental results to DEMO.
Country or International Organisation Germany
Paper Number PPC/P4-19

Primary author

Dr Ronald Wenninger (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik)


Prof. Ambrogio Fasoli (CRPP-EPFL) Dr Bernhard Sieglin (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, EURATOM Association, Garching, Germany) Dr Clemente Angioni (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Plasmaphysik, EURATOM Association, D-85748 Garching, Germany) Dr Emiliano Fable (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, EURATOM Association, Garching, Germany) Dr Fabio Villone (Ass. EURATOM/ENEA/CREATE, DIEI, Univ. Cassino, Italy) Prof. Frank Jenko (Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics) Dr Gerardo Giruzzi (IRFM, CEA) Dr Gianfranco Federici (EFDA, Garching, Germany) Dr Giuseppe Ramogida (Associazione Euratom-ENEA sulla Fusione, C.P. 65-I-00044-Frascati, Rome, Italy) Prof. Hartmut Zohm (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik) Dr Jean-Francois Artaud (CEA, IRFM, F-13108St Paul-Lez-Durance, France) Dr Jeronimo Garcia (CEA IRFM) Dr Leena Aho-Mantila (VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland) Dr Marco Wischmeier (IPP Garching) Dr Massimilliano Mattei (Ass. EURATOM/ENEA/CREATE, DIII, Seconda Università di Napoli, Naples, Italy) Dr Matthias Bernert (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, EURATOM Association, Garching, Germany) Dr Patrick Maget (CEA, IRFM, F-13108St Paul-Lez-Durance, France) Dr Raffaele Albanese (4Ass. EURATOM/ENEA/CREATE, Università di Napoli Federico II, Naples, Italy) Dr Roberto Ambrosino (Ass. EURATOM/ENEA/CREATE, Università di Napoli Parthenope, Naples, Italy)

Presentation materials