16th IAEA Technical Meeting on Energetic Particles in Magnetic Confinement Systems - Theory of Plasma Instabilities

Tuesday 3 September 2019 - Friday 6 September 2019 Shizuoka City, Japan

Scientific Programme

The Technical Meeting will include invited and contributed papers (orals and posters). Oral presentations will be followed by poster presentations to enhance topical discussions. It is expected that all talks will be approximately 20 minutes with around ten minutes for discussion.

An International Programme Advisory Committee (see below) consisting of a representative international membership will be responsible for the selection of papers, the arrangements of technical sessions and the overall scientific content of the meeting.

The International Programme Advisory Committee is composed of the following members:

Todo, Yasushi (Chair) - Japan Yagi, Masatoshi (Co-Chair) - Japan **Breizman, Boris - United States of America** Cai, Huishan - China Chen, Wei - China Fasoli, Ambrogio - Switzerland Fredrickson, Eric - United States of America Fulop, Tunde - Sweden Hahm, Taik Soo - Republic of Korea Heidbrink, William - United States of America Kolesnichenko, Yaroslav - Ukraine **Lauber, Philipp - Germany** Pinches, Simon - ITER Organization Sharapov, Sergei - United Kingdom Shinohara, Kouji - Japan Vlad, Gregorio - Italy

The sessions will be devoted to the following topics:

Alpha Particles Physics

Transport of Energetic Particles

Effects of Energetic Particles in Magnetic Confinement Fusion Devices

Collective Phenomena

Alfvén eigenmodes, energetic particle modes and others

Runaway Electrons and Disruptions

Diagnostics for Energetic Particles

Control of Energetic Particle Confinement

Multiscale Physics and Instabilities in Burning Plasmas