Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
13-17 May 2019
Daejeon, Republic of Korea
Europe/Vienna timezone
Meeting Material is now available and accessible from the left-menu

Advances and challenges in KSTAR plasma control toward long-pulse, high-performance experiments

13 May 2019, 11:10
Daejeon, Republic of Korea

Daejeon, Republic of Korea

Board: O/2-1
Oral (Plenary Session) Plasma Control Plenary Oral


Dr Sang-hee Hahn (NFRI)


An overview of advances and progress on the KSTAR plasma control improvement is given. The enhancement of the plasma control system continues in order to enable implementations of more sophisticated control algorithms and capabilities of integrated controls on magnets, gas, heating and off-normal event handling. Features and functionalities are constantly added for integration of various real-time controls that are desired for the operation space expansion, mainly regarding recent achievements of higher plasma current up to 1.0-1.2MA, high-performance long pulse up to 90s, and discharges relevant to ITER. Technical challenges on the plasma control of superconducting devices are discussed, based on experiences of KSTAR operations. Prospective upgrades and expansion of advanced control functionalities in the near future are described as well.

Primary author

Dr Sang-hee Hahn (NFRI)


Dr J.G. BAK (National Fusion Research Institute) Dr Y.M. Jeon (National Fusion Research Institute) June-Woo Juhn (Seoul National University) Dr H.S. Kim (National Fusion Research Institute) Hyunsun HAN (Nuclear Fusion Research Institute, Korea) Mr Heungsu Kim (National Fusion Research Institute) Dr M.H. Woo (National Fusion Research Institute) Dr M. Joung (National Fusion Research Institute) Dr J.H. Jeong (National Fusion Research Institute) Mr T.H. Tak (National Fusion Research Institute) Dr Jinil Chung (National Fusion Research Institute) Dr S.W. Yoon (National Fusion Research Institute) Prof. Mike Walker (General Atomics) Nicholas Eidietis (General Atomics) Jayson Barr (General Atomics) Mr Anders Welander (General Atomics) David Humphreys (General Atomics) Mr Ben Penaflor (General Atomics) Mr David Piglowski (General Atomics) Mark Boyer (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory) Mr Keith Erickson (Princeton Plasma Physics Lab) Dennis Mueller (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory) Giwook Shin (University of Science and Technology)

Presentation Materials