Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Physics of fast component of deuterium gas jet injection in magnetized plasmas

25 Oct 2018, 14:00
4h 45m
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Poster P6 Posters


Dr Zhanhui Wang (Southwestern Institute of Physics)


Plasma fueling with higher efficiency and deeper injection is crucial to enable fusion power performance requirements at high density for next generation devices such as ITER. Compared to pellet injection fueling method, it penetrates shallower for the fueling methods of supersonic molecular beam injection (SMBI) and gas puffing (GP). SMBI is one method of deuterium gas jet injection. Fast component (FC) of deuterium gas jet injection has been widely observed in the HL-2A experiment for several years but never been simulated and well understood. It is the first time that simulations of FC with trans-neut module of BOUT++ code are well validated with the HL-2A experimental measurements, in this paper. Simulation results are consistent with the experiment. The real HL-2A experimental profiles of plasma density and temperature are applied as the initial profiles in the simulation. Both the spatial and temporal evolution of Dα intensity is calculated self-consistently in the simulation by using Atomic Data and Analysis Structure (ADAS) database. The mechanism of FC is revealed. The plasma blocking effect on the FC penetration is also simulated and validated.
Paper Number TH/P6-22
Country or International Organization China, People's Republic of

Primary author

Dr Zhanhui Wang (Southwestern Institute of Physics)


Dr Aiping Sun (Southwestern Institute of physics) Prof. Beibin Feng (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Deliang Yu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Jiaqi Dong (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Prof. Lianghua Yao (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Lin Nie (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Min Xu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Rui Ke (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr Shilin Hu (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Mr Yongfu Shi (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Mr Yulin Zhou (Southwestern Institute of Physics) Dr chengyuan Chen (Southwestern Institute of Physics)

Presentation Materials