Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Design of the TF/PF Bus Bar lay out and its connections with Current Feeder System of SST1 Tokamak

26 Oct 2018, 08:30
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Poster FIP - Fusion Engineering, Integration and Power Plant Design P7 Posters


Mr bharatkumar doshi (Institute for plasma research)


Steady state super conducting Tokamak (SST-1) is an indigenously built working experimental Tokamak at Institute for Plasma Research (IPR). The primary magnetic configurations and plasma shaping magnetic requirements are provided by Superconducting Magnet Systems (SCMS) comprising of sixteen superconducting D-shaped Toroidal Field (TF) magnets and nine superconducting Poloidal Field (PF) magnets together with a pair of resistive PF coils inside the vacuum vessel. The current feeding system of TF & PF magnets consists of power supplies, current carrying bus bar and its connections with current leads at room temperature on one side and other side at 4.5 K with SCMS. Current Lead Chamber (CLC), which contains the super conducting current leads of Toroidal Field (TF) and Poloidal Field (PF) coils inside the vacuum chamber, has to be connected outside the vacuum chamber to the current feeder bus bars at room temperature. These bus bars are required to be supported with the proper support structure without any interference with the nearby components.The design of the bus bar layout along with its support structures to withstand the static and electromagnetic load and bus bar connections with current feeder system will be presented in this paper.
Country or International Organization India
Paper Number FIP/P7-25

Primary author

Mr bharatkumar doshi (Institute for plasma research)


Mr Atul Garg (Institute for Plasma Research, Near Indira Bridge, Bhat, Gandhinagar, India 382428) Mr Dineshkumar Sharma (Institute for plasma research) Mr Manojkumar Gupta (Institute for plasma research) Mr Prosenjit Santra (Institute for plasma research) Mr Snehal Jayswal (Institute for plasma research) Mrs Supriya Nair (Institute for plasma research) Dr Vipulkumar Tanna (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr kirit vasava (Institue for plasma research)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.