Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Origin of Harmonics of Drift Tearing Mode in ADITYA tokamak

27 Oct 2018, 10:45
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Oral EXS - Magnetic Confinement Experiments: Stability EX/11-SEE/3-PD Stability, Environmental, Post Deadline


Ms Harshita Raj (Institute for Plasma Research)


Tearing modes play pivotal role in determining two of the most critical parameters for tokamak operation, namely plasma confinement and disruption. They have been extensively studied both theoretically and experimentally, as controlling them is foremost priority for every tokamak, including ITER and future large size tokamaks. Coupling of tearing modes with drift wave is a common phenomenon observed in all tokamaks, resulting in drift tearing modes. Multiple drift tearing modes have also been observed in a bunch of experiments. However, these modes have been identified as different modes with different poloidal (m) and toroidal (n) mode numbers. In ADITYA as well as ADITYA Upgrade tokamak, the frequency spectra of Mirnov signal show multiple frequency bands corresponding to drift tearing modes. Interestingly, the higher frequencies have been precisely found to be integral multiples of the fundamental frequency. Further analysis reveals that these frequencies don’t belong to different modes but harmonics of a single mode. These harmonic frequencies also reflect significantly in the density as well as impurity radiation. We have also found that the occurrence of these harmonics is strongly correlated with the presence of runaways in the plasma. The origin of these harmonics and their operational regime will be explained in this paper. The role of runaway electrons in manifestation of these harmonics is also proposed.
Paper Number EX/11-1
Country or International Organization India

Primary author

Ms Harshita Raj (Institute for Plasma Research)


Prof. Abhijit Sen (Institute for Plasma Research) Dr Joydeep Ghosh (Institute for Plasma Research) Mr Kumarpalsinh Jadeja (Institute for plasma Research) Mr P.K. Chattopadhyay (InIPR) Mr R. Pal (SINP) Mr Raju D. (InIPR) Mr Rakesh Tanna (Institute For Plasma Research)

Presentation Materials