Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Experiments in Disruption Avoidance for ITER Using Passive and Active Control

23 Oct 2018, 15:40
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Overview OV - Overviews OV/4 Overview Magnetic Fusion


Dr Edward Strait (General Atomics)


Key plasma physics and real-time control elements needed for robustly stable operation of high fusion power discharges in ITER have been demonstrated in US fusion research. Optimization of the current density profile has enabled passively stable operation without n=1 tearing modes in discharges simulating ITER’s baseline scenario with zero external torque. Stable rampdown of the discharge has been achieved with ITER-like scaled current ramp rates, while maintaining an X-point configuration. Significant advances have been made toward real-time prediction of disruptions: machine learning techniques for prediction of disruptions have achieved 90% accuracy in offline analysis, and direct probing of ideal and resistive plasma stability using 3D magnetic perturbations has shown a rising plasma response before the onset of a tearing mode. Active stability control contributes to prevention of disruptions, including direct stabilization of resistive-wall kink modes in high beta discharges, forced rotation of magnetic islands to prevent wall locking, and localized heating/current drive to shrink the islands. These elements are being integrated into stable operating scenarios and a new event-handling system for off-normal events in order to develop the physics basis and techniques for robust control in ITER.

Work supported by US DOE under DE-FC02-04ER54698, DE-SC0008520, DE-SC0016372, DE-FG02-04ER54761, DE-AC52-07NA27344, DE-SC0015878, DE-SC0014264, DE-FG02-99ER54524, DE-FOA-0001498, DE-AC02-09CH11466, DE-FC02-99ER54512, DE-SC0010720, DE-SC0010492, and the DOE Computational Science Graduate Fellowship, and by the EUROfusion Consortium with funding through FuseNet from the Euratom research and training programme 2014-2018 under Grant Agreement No. 633053. The views and opinions expressed herein do not necessarily reflect those of the European Commission.

Country or International Organization United States of America
Paper Number OV/4-5

Primary author

Dr Edward Strait (General Atomics)


Dr Alan Turnbull (UsGA) Dr Anders Welander (UsGA) Dr Carlos Paz-Soldan (General Atomics) Dr Christopher T. Holcomb (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) Dr Clayton Myers (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory) Dr Cristina Rea (UsPSFC) Dr David Humphreys (General Atomics) Dr Egemen Kolemen (PPPL) Dr Francesca Poli (PPPL) Dr Francesca Turco (Columbia University) Dr Jayson Barr (General Atomics) Dr Jeremy Hanson (Columbia University) Dr John Berkery (Columbia University) Dr Jong-Kyu Park (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory) Julian Kates-Harbeck (Department of Physics, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA 02138, USA) Kleijwegt Kornee (NlEUT) Dr Matthew Lanctot (General Atomics) Dr Michio Okabayashi (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory) Dr Mitchell Clement (UsColumbia) Dr Nicholas Eidietis (General Atomics) Dr Nicholas Taylor (UsGA) Dr Nikolas Logan (UsPPPL) Dr Robert Granetz (MIT) Dr Robert La Haye (UsGA) Dr Stefano Munaretto (UsGA) Dr Steven Sabbagh (Columbia University) Dr Timothy C. Luce (General Atomics) Dr Wilkie Choi (UsColumbia) Dr Yueqiang Liu (General Atomics, PO Box 85608, San Diego, CA 92186-5608, USA) Dr Zhirui Wang (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory)

Presentation Materials