Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
22-27 October 2018
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre
Asia/Kolkata timezone

Recent advances in ICRF heating of mixture plasmas: survey of JET and AUG experiments and extrapolation to JET-DT and ITER

26 Oct 2018, 15:20
Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Mahatma Mandir Conference Centre

Gandhinagar (nearest Airport: Ahmedabad), India
Oral EXW - Magnetic Confinement Experiments: Wave–plasma interactions; current drive; heating; energetic particles EX/8, PPC/2 - TH/6 Heating, Current Drive & Steady State


Dr Yevgen Kazakov (Laboratory for Plasma Physics, LPP-ERM/KMS, Brussels, Belgium)


This contribution summarizes recent theoretical and experimental developments of a novel 'three-ion species' heating scheme that have opened new promising avenues for the application of ICRF in fusion plasmas. Following successful proof-of-principle demonstration on the Alcator C-Mod and JET tokamaks [1], this scenario has also been recently established on AUG. A small amount of 3He ions (~1% and below) was injected into H-D plasmas to absorb RF power and heat the plasma. In JET experiments, effective plasma heating was observed both at extremely low 3He concentrations of ~0.1-0.2% (maximized fast-ion content) and at moderate concentrations of ~1-1.5%. We further enhanced the efficiency for fast-ion generation and plasma heating by changing the configuration of ICRH antennas from dipole to +pi/2 phasing. Heating AUG plasmas with this ICRF scenario requires 3He ions to be less energetic than in JET. The combination of moderate 3He concentrations of ~1% and off-axis 3He resonance was successfully applied to reduce fast-ion energies and thus improve confinement of RF-heated ions in AUG. ICRH modeling with the state-of-the-art codes SCENIC [2] and TORIC-SSFPQL has been used extensively to validate JET and AUG experimental observations. In a next-step, we also successfully demonstrated effective heating of JET H-D mixtures using the fast injected D-NBI ions as resonant 'third' species [3]. The scenario was tuned such that D-NBI ions with injection energy of 100keV absorbed most of launched RF power and were accelerated with ICRF up to ~2MeV. The observed ten-fold increase in the neutron rate and its temporal evolution were successfully reproduced with the time-dependent TRANSP modeling. The established technique of accelerating NBI ions in mixture plasmas to higher energies can be applied to generate alpha particles in D-3He plasmas and to maximize D-T fusion reactivity. Finally, we conclude with a discussion of the application of these novel ICRF scenarios for future JET-DT and ITER operations [4]. [1] Ye.O. Kazakov, J. Ongena, J.C. Wright, S.J. Wukitch et al, *Nature Physics* **13**, 973-978 (2017) [2] J.M. Faustin et al, *Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion* **59**, 084001 (2017) [3] J. Ongena, Ye.O. Kazakov et al, *EPJ Web Conf.* **157**, 02006 (2017) [4] M. Schneider, J.-F. Artaud, P. Bonoli, Y. Kazakov et al, *EPJ Web Conf.* **157**, 03046 (2017)
Country or International Organization Belgium
Paper Number EX/8-1

Primary author

Dr Yevgen Kazakov (Laboratory for Plasma Physics, LPP-ERM/KMS, Brussels, Belgium)


- JET Contributors (-) - the ASDEX Upgrade Team (-) - the EUROfusion MST1 Team (-) Dr Agata Czarnecka (IPPLM, Warsaw, Poland) Dr Alessandro Cardinali (ENEA, Italy) Dr Athina Kappatou (Max-Planck-Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching, Germany) Dr Carine Giroud (CCFE) Dr Carl Hellesen (Uppsala University, Sweden) Dr Carmine Castaldo (ENEA) Mr Daniel Gallart (BSC, Barcelona, Spain) Dr Daniel Valcarcel (UKAEA) Dr Dirk Van Eester (LPP-ERM/KMS) Dr Dmytro Grekov (KIPT, Kharkiv, Ukraine) Dr Ernesto Augusto Lerche (LPP-ERM/KMS) Dr Fernando Nabais (IST, Lisbon, Portugal) Mr Frederic Durodie (LPP-ERM/KMS) Mr Hamish Patten (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland) Dr Henri Weisen (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland) Dr Igor Monakhov (UKAEA) Dr Jacob Eriksson (Uppsala University, Sweden) Dr Jakub Bielecki (Institute of Nuclear Physics, Krakow, Poland) Mr Javier Gonzalez-Martin (University of Seville, Spain) Prof. Jean-Marie Noterdaeme (Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics) Mr Joaquin Galdon-Quiroga (University of Seville) Dr John Wright (MIT - PSFC) Dr Jonathan Faustin (Max-Planck-Institute for Plasma Physics, Greifswald, Germany) Dr Jonathan Graves (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland) Dr Jozef ONGENA (Plasma Physics Lab, ERM-KMS, Brussels) Dr Kristel Crombe (Ghent University, Belgium) Dr Luca Giacomelli (Instituto di Fisica del Plasma, CNR, Milan, Italy) Dr Manuel Garcia-Munoz (Max-Planck Institute for Plasma Physics) Dr Marc Goniche (CEA, IRFM) Dr Maria Filomena Nave (Instituto de Plasmas e Fusão Nuclear, Instituto Superior Técnico) Dr Markus Weiland (Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik) Dr Massimo Nocente (Dipartimento di Fisica, Università di Milano-Bicocca) Dr Mervi Mantsinen (BSC, Barcelona Spain; ICREA, Barcelona, Spain) Dr Michael Fitzgerald (UKAEA) Prof. Miklos Porkolab (MIT) Dr Mireille Schneider (ITER Organization, France) Dr Morten Lennholm (European Commission) Ms Natalia Krawczyk (IPPLM, Warsaw, Poland) Dr Philip A. Schneider (Max-Planck-Institiut für Plasmaphysik) Dr Philippe Jacquet (CCFE) Mr Pierre DUMORTIER (LPP-ERM/KMS) Dr Remi Dumont (CEA, France) Dr Robert Felton (UKAEA) Dr Roberto Bilato (Max-Planck-Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching, Germany) Dr Roman Ochoukov (Max-Planck-Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching, Germany) Dr Sergei Sharapov (CCFE) Dr Sergey Bozhenkov (Max-Planck Insitute of Plasma Physics) Dr Sheena Menmuir (UKAEA) Dr Stephen Wukitch (MIT PSFC) Dr Teddy Craciunescu (National Institute for Laser, Plasma and Radiation Physics, Bucharest, Romania) Dr Thierry Loarer (CEA, IRFM, France) Dr Thomas Johnson (KTH, Stockholm, Sweden) Dr Vasily Kiptily (UKAEA) Dr Volodymyr Bobkov (Max-Planck-Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching, Germany) Dr Yuriy Baranov (UKAEA)

Presentation Materials