Since 18 of December 2019 uses Nucleus credentials. Visit our help pages for information on how to Register and Sign-in using Nucleus.
Aug 27 – 31, 2018
IAEA, Vienna
Europe/Vienna timezone


Not scheduled
IAEA, Vienna

IAEA, Vienna

Oral Mutation breeding for ornamental and vegetatively propagated crops


Dr Behnam Naserian Khiabani (Nuclear Agricultural Research School-Nuclear Science &Technology Research Institute)


Fusarium wilt, caused by the fungus Fusarium oxysporum, is one of the most serious diseases of banana in tropical and subtropical countries. Most research focuses on generating cultivars tolerant/resistant to this disease. Although there are banana cultivars resistant to the disease, transfer of the resistance trait to susceptible cultivars is difficult by traditional cross-breeding. Thus, radiation breeding could prove to be a viable method in banana breeding work. In this research mutation induction in Banana was carried out by shoot tips exposing to gamma ray. Then three times subculture was done. Rooted Banana plantlets in the modified MS medium (1/2 MS salt + 10gl-1sucrose + 4 gl-1 phytagel) inoculated by Fusarium oxysporum. For Inoculation, a filter paper disk (5mm diameter) soaked in the suspension containing 106 conidia per ml. Then each plantlet was inoculated by putting one disc on the surface of modified MS medium. Plantlet 7-24 days after inoculation showed disease symptoms such as yellowing, wilting and necrosis (fig1). Disease severity rated on a scale of 0 to 6, where score o refer to plantlet that completely clear and without symptoms and scored 6 for those plantlets that completely wilted. About 6000 mutant plantlets evaluated and scored. All mutant plantlet with a score of 0, 1 and 2 were selected. Selected plantlets transferred to the pot. Our result showed that combination of mutation induction and effective in-vitro selection methods appears to be the most efficient strategy for improving tolerance to fusarium wilt in banana.
Country or International Organization AEO of IRAN –Science and Technology Institute

Primary author

Dr Behnam Naserian Khiabani (Nuclear Agricultural Research School-Nuclear Science &Technology Research Institute)


Mr Cyrius Vedadi (Nuclear Agricultural Research School-Nuclear Science &Technology Research Institute) Dr Hamideh Afsharmanesh (Nuclear Agricultural Research School-Nuclear Science &Technology Research Institute)

Presentation materials